Home Page

St Colman's win League title

In an enthralling league final St Colman’s beat St Michael’s by a single point after extra time. The teams were closely matched and, in truth, no team deserved to lose.


The match was end to end from the first minute to the last. RTÉ pundit, Joe Brolly, presented the trophy to winning captains; Dylan Stitt and Joshua Walsh and later tweeted that ‘it was a hugely enjoyable game with not a backward pass from start to finish.’


St Colman’s got off to a flying start with early goals from Jude Johnson, Niall May and Ethan Walsh and a point from Dylan Stitt but St Michael’s quickly settled in to their stride with a goal and five points to their credit to leave them just two points behind at the interval.


The second half began with high intensity from both teams and it continued like that throughout. St Michael's continued to threaten the St Colman's goal but excellent defence from Luis Keenan, Adam Irwin, Odhran Donnelly and Aaron Flynn.  Superb goalkeeping from Jay Ward always helped to keep St Michael's at bay. Jude Johnson continued to score throughout the half and finished with 3-5 on the day. St Michael's continued to pepper the St Colman's goal and came back to take the lead and only for some fantastic saves from Jay Ward they would have gone further in front. Good support play from Hugh Wilson and Siobhan O'Connell lead to a superb Luke Campbell goal late on brought a breathless second half to a close with both teams still level.


Extra time saw St Colman's take an early lead with Dylan Stitt capping a man of the match performance with three quick points as St Colman's looked to be on their way to victory. Jude Johnson added to the lead but in the second period a great save from the St Michael's goalkeeper followed by a quick break away goal left just a point between the teams. Some last ditch defending from Ethan Walsh, Ben Doran and Joshua Walsh St Colman's held on for a narrow win that left players, supports and mentors exhausted but proud of the efforts of all of the children.


St Colmans' Squad: Jay Ward, Adam Irwin, Odhran Donnelly, Hugh Wilson, Siobhán McGurk, Aaron Flynn, Jude Johnson, Joshua Walsh, Dylan Stitt, Luke Campbell, Niall May, Ben Doran, Luis Keenan, Ethan Walsh